Kiwanis Member Awards

George F. Hixson Fellowship

Photo of the Hixon award.

One of the most recognized Kiwanis International Awards is the Hixon.  In 1983 the Kiwanis Children’s Fund established the George F. Hixson Fellowship, named for Kiwanis International’s first president.

Fellowships are awarded by donors who give $1,000 or more to the Children’s Fund to recognize people who have contributed significantly to the Kiwanis mission.

The Kiwanis Club of Lombard has several Hixon recipients, including Past Division 9 Lt. Governor David Brown, Past Division 9 Lt. Governor Jay Wojcik, and Past President and Past Treasurer Ken Wojcik. Jay has also received a Diamond level Hixon for her volunteer work as Illinois-Eastern Iowa (I-I) District Membership Chair for three years and I-I Master Leadership Trainer for five years.

Amador Award

The Amador Medallion Award is named in honor and memory of Dr. Luis V. Amador, the medical director of the Kiwanis Neuroscience Research Foundation from its inception in 1952 through 2004. Dr. Amador was a Professor of Clinical Surgery at the University of Illinois-College of Medicine in Chicago and a Professor of Clinical Surgery at Northwestern Medical School in Chicago.

Through a grant from the Spastics Foundation, Brain Tumors in the Young, he authored a definitive book on the subject which the Foundation has circulated worldwide to hospitals with pediatric neurosurgeons.  Dr. Amador also co-authored The Atlas of the Brain, a CD produced with the I-I District Key Club.  Dr. Amador passed away in April 2007.  

The Luis V. Amador, M.D. Medallion Award Program allows a Kiwanis Divisional Council, District Board, Key Club, and Circle K Boards within the I-I District to extend special recognition and honor to an individual that has demonstrated outstanding service within his or her community.

Our club has two Amador recipients, Past Presidents Joe McCann and Jay Wojcik.

Zeller Award

When an individual or a club donated $1,250 in a member’s name to The Eliminate Project, which was also known as the Kiwanis Eliminating Maternal and Neonatal Tetanus, they became a Walter Zeller Fellow.  Each donation is credited as saving or protecting more than 690 women and their future babies from this disease.

Members of the Lombard Club who have received this recognition include  Mary Berth Lynch, Brigitte O’Brien, and Jay Wojcik.

Ruby K Award

Volunteers invest their time, energy, and skills to make a difference in their communities. The investments and contributions often attract others looking for a positive way to make a difference.  In recognition of sponsoring new members, Kiwanis developed the Ruby K Award that denotes, by increments of five, the number of individuals a member has sponsored. Both Mary Beth Lynch and Jay Wojcik have received Ruby K’s.

Distinguished Awards

Each year Kiwanis International sets up criteria for those members and clubs that go that extra mile and truly “Make A Difference” in their club, community, and division.  Some of the items that need to be accomplished include:

1. Being a Current  or “Elected” Lieutenant Governor

2. Being a Current or “Elected” Club Officer or Director

3. Sponsor new members

4. Serve as a Club Coach to a Newly Chartered Club or a club under Charter Strength.

5. Actively participate in either a Club Build or a Club Strengthening program

6. Participate in at least 20 hours of service in Kiwanis projects

7. Contribute at least $25 to the Kiwanis Children’s Fund AND the Kiwanis Neuroscience Research Foundation (KNRF).

Over the past years, members recognized as Distinguished Officers and Members are:  Past President Joe McCann and Past President David Brown. Jay Wojcik has been recognized as a Distinguished Past President and Distinguished Lt. Governor for Division 9.